Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Rep. Buck Leads Letter Urging AG Barr and DOJ to Investigate and Prosecute Groups Responsible for Violent Riots

September 10, 2020
Press Release

Today, Congressman Ken Buck (R-Colo.) led 50 total members in sending a letter to Attorney General William Barr urging the Department of Justice to investigate individuals and groups responsible for funding, organizing, inciting, and participating in the destructive riots taking place in cities across the country. In a tweet on August 30, Rep. Buck called on the Justice Department to investigate the large-scale funding and organization behind these groups’ violent tactics. 

In the letter, Rep. Buck and the cosigners straightforwardly denounce these left-wing groups’ acts as “terroristic” and “totalitarian,” and identify the prolonged nature and organization of their attacks. The letter, in part, reads:

“We write to share our deep concerns regarding the ongoing violence that has gripped American cities and threatened the rule of law across our nation. ANTIFA and other left-wing anarchist groups have unleashed a barrage of totalitarian attacks on our country in recent months, including accosting a sitting U.S. Senator, hijacking peaceful rallies, organizing armed riots, destroying property, burning buildings, stealing livelihoods, and spreading hate.”

Congressman Ken Buck (R-Colo.) released the following statement concerning the letter:

“ANTIFA and other far-left anarchist groups have wreaked havoc on our nation for far too long. Americans deserve to feel safe and secure in their own communities. It is time that AG Barr and the DOJ take action to investigate and prosecute the groups responsible for these violent riots. I am proud to lead this effort with my colleagues to put a stop to these coordinated attacks that have subverted our system of government and way of life,” Rep. Buck said.

Text of the letter is available HERE.

Cosigners include: Reps. Biggs, Babin, Budd, Collins, Gibbs, Duncan, King, Perry, Steube, Roy, Palmer, Posey, Abraham, Davis, Gaetz, Brooks, Lesko, LaMalfa, Wright, Meuser, Norman, Loudermilk, Riggleman, Davidson, Yoho, Kelly, Hice, DesJarlais, Tiffany, Spano, Harris, Gosar, Weber, Gooden, Rouzer, Fulcher, Hern, Jason Smith, Reschenthaler, Adrian Smith, Banks, Arrington, Grothman, Walker, Murphy, Joyce, Guest, Cloud,and Sensenbrenner.